It was interesting to see the transformation as I walked into a supermarket. All the aisles where red, flowers almost at every corner and chocolate boxes as far as your eyes could see.

For some valentine’s day is as far as their love can go, a card with a few flowers thrown in and maybe if the other person is lucky maybe some chocolates too. That is the level of their love, just a small effort shown on solely one day of the year.

Funnily enough as Christians we do the same at times. We give God just the Sunday that’s His ‘valentine’s day’ while the vast amount of weeks is crammed full with other responsibilities and tasks but why not go up another love level with God.

Love is a frequently used word that we use each day but what does it mean? Love is defined in the dictionary as “a strong feeling of affection, a great interest and pleasure in something”. I remember listening to a message and hearing the preacher use a Greek word called “AGAPE” for love. It’s interesting to see that in our English language we have one word for love yet the Greek language has around 30 words to describe love!

There are six types of love which come up frequently within the Greek society:

• EROS – which was a sexual type of love or passion this type of love is dangerous.  C.S. Lewis held this view because it is a fiery, irrational type of love that possess;
• PHILEO (philia) – a deep friendship type of love;
• LUDUS – a playful type of love;
• PRAGMA – the mature type of love that the Greeks linked to married couples who have been together for many years;
• PHILAUTIA – self-love.

Lastly we have AGAPE – which is defined as brotherly love, charity, the love of God for man and of man for God. This type of love is referred to in the New Testament. Agape is a self-sacrificing love. “He who does not love does not know God, for God is love.” ?1 John? ?4?:?8?

Agape is the level of love we are all working towards, striving towards. Loving like God goes beyond any other type of love. It’s not looking at who the person is; it’s loving like how God loves that person – His precious beloved creation, His children.

I shall be continuing the different levels of love in the next month’s article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.